2016 Web Talks Shaping Up

After the immense success of the free 2015 Web Talks, which were part of the Wilmette Institute’s twentieth-anniversary celebration, the Institute determined to make the talks a permanent part of its offerings.

So far, the Wilmette Institute has scheduled seven of the eleven talks (the April talk had to be moved to May, and there will be no talk in July):

  • January 17: Shahrokh Monjazeb—who spoke last month on “Veiled and Concealed in the Hidden Habitation of His Inner Being: Revelation in the Siyah-Chal.”
  • February 14: Brian Aull—“Consultation: A Revolutionary Model of Democratic Governance.”
  • March 19: Vasu Mohan—topic to be announced.  NOTE: This talk will occur on a Saturday.
  • May 1: Jena Khodadad—“The Hand of the Cause of God Zikrullah Khadem.”
  • May 15, Stephen Phelps— “I Am the Mystic Fane: The Nature of the Manifestation in the Baha’i Writings.”
  • June 5, Trip Barthel, “Creative Consultation.”
  • July: No Web Talk.
  • October 16, Roshan Danesh, “Imagining Baha’i Law.”

The talks for August, September, November and December will be added to the list as details become available.

For those who are new to the Wilmette Institute’s Web Talks, they are free and open to the public, but they require you to sign up in advance (watch for flyers and announcements or keep checking http://wilmetteinstitute.org and then clicking on Web Talks). The Web Talks use a system that transmits audio and video of presenters, together with PowerPoint slides being used. Audience members can comment on the talks and ask questions by typing them into a “chat” box.

Most of the talks will be held on a Sunday at 2 p.m. Eastern Time (1 p.m. CT; 12 noon MT; 11 a.m. PT; 7 p.m. in the UK.; 8 p.m. in Western Europe).

The one exception in 2016 is the Web Talk scheduled for Saturday, March 19, beginning at 12 noon Eastern Time (11 a.m. CT; 10 a.m., MT; 9 a.m. PT; 5 p.m. in the U.K.; 6 p.m. in Western Europe; 9:30 p.m. in India).

After a live Web Talk is given, it is generally posted on the Wilmette Institute’s website, usually within 24 hours, where you can access most of the talks from 2015 and 2016.

Leave a Reply