Call for 2014 Hasan M. Balyuzi Memorial Lectureship Nominations

The Association for Bahá’í Studies–North America invites the submission of nominations for the 32nd  Hasan M. Balyuzi Memorial Lecture, to be delivered at the 38th Annual Conference of the Association to be held in Toronto, Ontario, August 7–10, 2014.

HasanBalyuziThe Balyuzi Lecture is given at the Annual Conference by an individual who has made outstanding contributions to Bahá’í scholarship and has a distinguished record of service to the Bahá’í Faith. Consideration will be given to an individual who has created a body of work that has notably advanced the progress, prestige, and/or understanding of the significance of the Bahá’í Faith on a national or international level. Scholarly work may include, but is not limited to, published works, such as books, essays, novels, poetry, or artistic productions, such as plays, sculpture, paintings, music. Consideration will also be given to those whose life has been a significant part of the history of the Bahá’í Faith. In selecting the Hasan Balyuzi Memorial Lecturer, utmost consideration must be given to individuals who belong to groups historically underrepresented or unrecognized in the wider society.

Preference will be given to nominations of persons residing in North America. Sitting members of the ABS Executive Committee and its Editorial Committee are not eligible. An individual may be named Hasan Balyuzi Memorial Lecturer only once. The Executive Committee will adjudicate and reserves the right to modify the criteria under special circumstances.

Nominations must be submitted in writing and must include the name of the person being nominated, an explanation why he or she should be selected, and the name and address of the person making the nomination. Nominations should be sent to the Association for Bahá’í Studies, 34 Copernicus St., Ottawa, ON, Canada K1N 7K4; fax: 613-233-3644; e-mail: and must be received by 20 November 2013.

Previous Hasan M. Balyuzi lecturers:

2013 – Layli Miller-Muro
2012 – Shapour Rassekh
2011 – Nader Saiedi
2010 – Julio Savi
2009 – Otto Don Rogers
2008 – Houshmand Fatheazam
2007 – Will van den Hoonaard
2006 – Janet Khan
2005 – John Hatcher
2004 – Ali Nakhjavani
2003 – Suheil Bushrui
2002 – Udo Schaefer
2001 – Fariborz Sahba and Hossein Amanat
2000 – Bahiyyih Nakhjavani
1999 – Richard Thomas
1998 – William S. Hatcher
1997 – Dorothy Nelson
1996 – Ross Woodman
1995 – Amin Banani
1994 – David Ruhe
1993 – Abbas Amanat
1991 – David Hofman
1990 – Elsie Austin
1988 – Moojan Momen
1986 – Adib Taherzadeh
1985 – Dorothy Freeman
1984 – David Hofman
1983 – Firuz Kazemzadeh
1982 – Gayle Morrison
1981 – Douglas Martin, Glenford Mitchell
1980 – Abbas Afnan, Muhammad Afnan